Steven Taylor to Lead 2019 National Health Council Board of Directors

Washington, DC — Dec. 11, 2018 — At its annual membership meeting today, the National Health Council (NHC) elected its officers and new members of the Board of Directors for 2019. Steven Taylor, Chief Executive Officer of the Sjögren’s Syndrome Foundation will be the Chairperson of the NHC Board of Directors for 2019. Other members of the 2019 Executive Committee will be: Chairperson-Elect Ann Palmer, President & Chief Executive Officer, Arthritis Foundation; Vice Chairperson, Gary Reedy, Chief Executive Officer, American Cancer Society; Secretary Matt Eyles, President & Chief Executive Officer, America’s Health Insurance Plans; Treasurer Cassandra McCullough, Chief Executive Officer, Association of Black Cardiologists; and Immediate Past Chairperson Robert Gebbia, Chief Executive Officer, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

“Steve is a passionate leader in the patient advocacy community and shaped the development of our 2019-2021 Strategic Plan,” said Marc Boutin, JD, Chief Executive Officer of the National Health Council. Click here to read more.
National Health Council

CHICAGO—“Sjögren’s has proven to be one of our most difficult to diagnose autoimmune rheumatic diseases,” began Frederick B. Vivino, MD, MS, director of the Penn Sjögren’s Syndrome Center, chief of rheumatology at Penn Presbyterian Medical Center and professor of clinical medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, as he opened the session on Sjögren’s syndrome at the 2018 ACR/ARHP Annual Meeting on Oct. 21. Many rheumatologists gathered in the large auditorium, with some forced to sit on the floor to learn about these issues. Dr. Vivino noted that although there is a defined classification for Sjögren’s syndrome, clinicians still face practical challenges in making an accurate diagnosis. In addition, gaps and challenges exist in treating local and systemic manifestations of Sjögren’s syndrom. Click here to read more.


More information about the different Sjögren’s programs from this year’s meeting will be published in the SSF member newsletter, “The Moisture Seekers.” Click here to learn more about becoming an SSF member. 

SSF CFC #: 10603

We hope you consider choosing to contribute to the Sjögren's Syndrome Foundation (SSF) through the Combined Federal Campaign. You can also recognize the SSF with our EIN #: 11-2779073.

If you have any questions, please contact the SSF at  (301) 530-4420 or



Click here to view timeline in a new window.

September marks the 35th Anniversary of the Sjögren’s Syndrome Foundation (SSF) that was founded by Elaine K. Harris, a frustrated patient determined to learn more about her disease. During the SSF’s first year, Elaine held support group meetings in her home and wrote The Moisture Seekers, the Foundation’s patient newsletter, on her typewriter.  She then slowly grew that support group into the SSF.
Click here to read more.