Medical & Scientific Advisory Board
About the Foundation

The Medical and Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for monitoring medical and scientific progress in Sjögren's syndrome and advising the Sjögren's Syndrome Foundation Board of Directors on medical and scientific issues.

Members of the Medical and Scientific Advisory Board (MSAB) are healthcare professionals that represent a wide spectrum of specialties involved in Sjögren's diagnosis, treatment, and research.

View SSF Scientific Initiatives


Denise Faustman, MD, PhD
Harvard Medical School
Charlestown, MA

Immediate Past Chair

Elaine Alexander, MD, PhD
Biomedical Consultant
San Diego, CA



Richard Brasington, MD
Washington University
St. Louis, MO

Steven E. Carsons, MD
Winthrop University Hospital
Mineola, NY

Theresa Lawrence Ford, MD
North Georgia Rheumatology Group, PC
Lawrenceville, GA

Ann Parke, MD
University of Connecticut Health Science Center
Farmington, CT

Daniel Small, MD
Sarasota Arthritis Center
Director of the Sj
ögren's Center of Florida
Sarasota, FL

Neil Stahl, MD
Georgetown University, Washington DC
Arthritis & Rheumatic Disease Associates, PC, Burke, VA

Frederick B. Vivino, MD
University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA


Ocular Medicine

Gary Foulks, MD
University of Louisville
Louisville, KY

Austin Mircheff, PhD
University of Southern California,
Keck School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA

J. Daniel Nelson, MD, FACS
Dry Eye and Tear Research Center
Minneapolis, MN

Kelly Nichols, OD
University of Houston, College of Optometry
Houston, TX


Obstetrics and Gynecology

Pamela Stratton, MD
National Institute of Child Health & Human Development, NIH
Bethesda, MD


Oral Medicine

Michael Brennan, DDS, MHS
Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, North Carolina

Troy E. Daniels, DDS, MS
University of California San Francisco School of Dentistry
San Francisco, CA

Philip C. Fox, DDS
Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, NC

Athena Papas, DMD, PhD
Tufts School of Dental Medicine
Boston, MA

Andres Pinto, DMD
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH

Nelson Rhodus, DMD
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Vidya Sankar, DMD
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Dental School
San Antonio, Texas



Tara Mardigan, MS, MPH, RD
Brigham & Women's Hospital
Boston, MA



H. Kenneth Fisher, MD
Private practice in internal, pulmonary and sleep medicine
Beverly Hills, CA


Associate Members

Simon J. Bowman, PhD
Janine A. Clayton, MD
Robert I. Fox, MD, PhD
Arthur Grayzel, MD
Roland Jonsson, DMD, PhD
Stuart S. Kassan, MD
Robert Lebovics, MD
Michael Lemp, MD
Xavier Mariette, MD
Haralampos M. Moutsopoulos, MD
Manuel Ramos Casals, MD, PhD
James J. Sciubba, DMD, PhD
Harry Spiera, MD
Leo Sreebny, DDS, MS, PhD
Norman Talal, MD
Athanasios G. Tzioufas, MD
Ira J. Udell, MD
Claudio Vitali, MD
Daniel J. Wallace, MD
Pierre Youinou, MD, DSc